Additional resources

Hospital Compare

Hospital Compare is a site created for consumers to learn more about a healthcare organization's quality outcomes using the star rating system. The star rating summarizes over 50 quality measures for hospitals, showing how well each hospital performed, on average, compared to other hospitals in the U.S. The overall rating ranges from one to five stars, with five stars being the highest overall performance on the reported quality measures.

Visit Hospital Compare.

National Quality Forum (NQF)

The National Quality Forum (NQF) is a not-for-profit, nonpartisan, membership-based organization that works to catalyze improvements in healthcare. NQF measures and standards serve as a critically important foundation for initiatives to enhance healthcare value, make patient care safer, and achieve better outcomes.

Visit the National Quality Forum (NQF).

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.

Visit the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI)

The Institute for Healthcare Improvement is an organization committed to redesigning healthcare into a system without errors, wastes, delays, and unsustainable costs. They created the Triple Aim framework, which focuses on optimizing health system performance while simultaneously focusing on the health of a population, the care experience within that population, and the costs of providing care.

Visit Institute for Healthcare Improvement.

Det Norske Veritas (DNV)/ISO

Det Norske Veritas is an accreditation program that integrates the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Conditions of Participation with the ISO 9001 Quality Management Program. ISO 9001 standard provides specific requirements for a quality management system that will enhance an organization's ability to consistently deliver care that meets patient needs - as well as statutory and regulatory requirements.

Visit DNV.

Visit ISO 9001 Quality Management Program.


The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization driving a movement for giant leaps forward in the quality and safety of American health care. The Leapfrog Hospital Survey collects and transparently reports hospital performance, empowering purchasers to find the highest-value care and giving consumers the information they need to make informed decisions. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, assigns letter grades to hospitals based on their record of patient safety, helping to inform consumers and their families.

Visit Leapfrog Group.


The Magnet Recognition Program recognizes healthcare organizations for quality patient care, nursing excellence and innovations in professional nursing practice.

ECRI-Patient Safety Organization (PSO)

ECRI is a Patient Safety Organization (PSO) that provides resources and tools to prevent patient harm and reduce variation, waste, and rework. They empower organizations to report and analyze adverse events to proactively improve patient safety and share best practices identified from similar events at other organizations.

Visit ECRI.

Learn more about HonorHealth hospitals quality and patient safety: