Ratings and awards

In the spirit of transparency and accountability, HonorHealth invites the public to review our performance on nationally endorsed quality and safety measures compared to other hospitals. We believe it is important to share this information because evidence shows that public reporting is a key element in promoting enhanced patient care.

Facility 2019 STAR Rating 2019 Spring Leapfrog Safety Grade Magnet Designation
Thompson Peak * * * * * A HonorHealth - Magnet recognized
Shea * * * * A
Osborn * * * * A
John C Lincoln * * B
Deer Valley * * * B

STAR Rating

The rating summarizes up to 57 quality measures reflecting common medical and surgical conditions that hospitals treat, such as heart attacks or pneumonia. The overall rating shows how well each hospital performed, on average, compared to other hospitals in the U.S. The overall rating ranges from one to five stars. The more stars, the better a hospital performed on the available quality measures. The most common overall rating is 3 stars. The data is provided by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Last updated: 1/1/19

Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade consists of 27 measures that are in either one of two domains: (1) Process/Structural Measures or (2) Outcome Measures, each accounting for 50 percent of the overall score.

  • Process Measures represent how often a hospital gives patients recommended treatment for a given medical condition or procedure. For example, "Responsiveness of hospital staff" looks at patients' feedback on how long it takes for a staff member to respond when they request help.
  • Structural Measures represent the environment in which patients receive care. For example, "Doctors order medications through a computer" represents whether a hospital uses a special computerized system to prevent errors when prescribing medications.
  • Outcome Measures represent what happens to a patient while receiving care. For example, "Falls and Trauma" measures the number of times patients fell in the hospital and acquired an injury related to the fall.

Magnet Designation

ANCC Magnet® designation is the highest and most prestigious credential a healthcare organization can achieve for nursing excellence and quality patient care. The Magnet Recognition Program designates organizations worldwide where nursing leaders successfully align their nursing strategic goals to improve the organization's patient outcomes. The culture of Magnet creates a dynamic and positive setting for professional nurses to practice with greater autonomy at the bedside, which means delivering the very best care to patients.

Learn more about HonorHealth hospitals quality and patient safety: